JavaScript: Daily Routine

Elisa Capololo
2 min readSep 21, 2023

--

After so long I decided to write again, about technology and what I’m learning. Hello, I’m back.

I want to share my routine learning about JavaScript and how I am solving some exercises on an amazing website that my mentor shared with me. But let me try to put all of these things into context. Hello again, my name is Elisa Capololo, and I’m a junior software engineer, I want to become a good frontend developer, and I’m studying the web for that. I understand and feel good writing code in HTML and CSS, now I’m learning Javascript and at the same time, I’m studying and trying to improve my programming skills, algorithm logic, and data structure. I really need to work on this. After a conversation I had in the middle of this year with Alexandre Juca, let me say that he is one of the best programmers I know in the entire world. We talked a lot about some insecurities I had about coding and he told me three things that I carry with me and that helped me make this decision: “First year you need focus, deliberate, slow but learning, after a lot of practice, you can go to another level.”

Focus: Choose just one technology or language and focus on learning it well.
Deliberate: decide that this is what I really want to do
Slow, but learning: learning will be slow, step by step, but with discipline and dedication you will learn.

After these words, and a lot of reflection on it, I made a decision to start my programming journey once and for all, and in the way I always imagined. One thing that has helped me be ready is reading the first chapter of the book: Think Like a Programmer: An Introduction to Creative Problem-Solving. I haven’t finished it yet, but let me tell you something, the book is good.

The image you see at the top came from an amazing website that, as I said, my mentor gave me. I found a website CODING COACH whose idea is to connect developers with mentors around the world, and my mentor Robert, shared with me a website where I can find exercises and practice my programming skills at the same time, the name of the website is Adventure of code, and today I’m doing day 3.
This is the first article in my JavaScript series: Daily routine, where I will be sharing how I am solving the exercise and what new features I found in JavaScript.

--

--

Elisa Capololo

Software Entrepreneur | Front-end Developer | Community Builder | MEST Africa Alumni | Writer in EN and PT